Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Strange Rendering
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:51 pm 
Droid
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:32 pm

Posts: 3
Hi guys, im new to the forum. I'm one of Lancer's students at MDS.

I have been trying to render this spacecraft i've been making in Blender. It seems to be rendering a squashed version of the image then stretching it up to full size. Im not sure why its doing this. Does anyone know?

Example:
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Strange Rendering
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:10 am 
User avatar
Administrator
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:46 pm

Posts: 3935

Location: New Zealand
Looks like you're rendering with 'fields' which is what those horizontal lines are on your image. Typically, it renders two images to represent a single frame - every second horizontal line is removed to make the second image, thus the two images are only half their 'final' height. When they are combined, the final image will be full height. So look for a check box or button etc that says "fields" and turn it off. Fields are for TV.

_________________
Roger Feron
Administrator
NZCGI
Feron Animation
Linked In


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Strange Rendering
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:07 pm 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 9:26 am

Posts: 582

Location: Auckland
Yeah, The lines look like interlacing of fields.
But i'd say that cos your image is 720x576
and you're
"rendering a squashed version of the image then stretching it up to full size."
sounds more like pixel aspect ratio

Check the output settings for your render. look for pixel aspect ratio - If you are rendering a default PAL image, its probably set to 1.0667 or somesuch rounding. try setting it to 1

a pal standard render (for TV) is
720x576 (PAR 1.067)

a pal square render (for a computer) will be
768x576 (PAR 1.0)

_________________
Dr Chops.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Strange Rendering
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 4:45 pm 
User avatar
Jedi Master
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:16 pm

Posts: 1007

Location: Kapiti Coast, Wellington
Hi SkeetNZ

I'm attached an image of the "default" render settings from blender, "as is" outta-the-box.

Image

The "fields" property Worzel mentioned is on the left. Once you hit that button, your images will jump for the reasons he explained, with the image only rendering at half size then jumping to make doubles. The missing lines your render has is kind of weird though... usually they fill in with stepped edges to objects.

SplattR is also correct, especially with regard to the size differences in regard to Pixel Aspect Ratio... see the second area I've highlighted in the controls. There is a column of stacked buttons here (PAL, NTSC, Default, Preview, PC etc) which are presets (memorised settings) for various screen outputs. These can affect multiple settings. Might it be that you've hit one of those?

Nice work on the ship. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

About Us


Contact Us


Advertise on NZCGI

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Logo Design by - Oliver Hilbert Revilo Designs