Post subject: 3D concept art workflows, questions from a student
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:59 am 
Droid

Hey guys, so I'm a student in Auckland currently finishing my 3rd year of 3D animation. I have this assignment where I need to research and experiment with a new workflow for creating photorealistic 3D concept art to broaden my skills in my chosen specialization.
I specialize in concept art, and would like to ask some questions about the new workflow I have chosen.

My usual workflow spans from sketching in either photoshop or sketchbook pro, then box modelling through maya and sculpting in mudbox. After that i usually paint the texture maps in photoshop and then render through Maya. This is the flow that I am comfortable with, and don't usually deter from.
For the workflow I am researching, I'm going completely out of my usual comfort zone. I will be sketching in my usual photoshop or sketchbook, then modelling and sculpting in Zbrush through dynamesh and the sorts. After that I'm going to be playing with Mari for textures, tweaking textures in photoshop and rendering back in Zbrush.

My questions are, does anyone here use a similar workflow to the one I am researching? What problems or advantages have you come across? Do Mari and Zbrush effectively communicate back and forth? Do you have any work that you can show using this workflow? What are other good workflows that you have found to be effective for photorealistc concept art?

Sorry for the bombardment of questions, so far it's been difficult to find much information online relevant to this combination of software haha

Post subject: Re: 3D concept art workflows, questions from a student
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:16 pm 
Rogue Leader